Meet the Governors

The governors, commonly referred to as the governing body, provide non-executive leadership. Our role is to operate as a board – similar to that of a charity, or the board of directors of a company.

In all matters, the ‘board of governors’ operate at a strategic level, leaving the senior school leaders responsible and accountable for the operational day-to-day running of the school.

Our core functions are

· Setting the vision and strategic direction of school;
· holding the Head Teacher to account for the school’s educational performance;
· and ensuring our financial resources are well spent.

Although governors are volunteers, we have a vital and demanding role that requires skill and professionalism. It is only right that we are accountable to Ofsted for our effectiveness. In all school inspections, Ofsted judges the effectiveness of a school’s governance based on criteria that directly reflect the board’s three core functions

As our governor partnership with Lutton St Nicholas and Gedney Church End have ceased, we have now set up our own local governing board.

We are in need of more governors, therefore if you are interested please contact the head of school to discuss what this entails

The Current Governing Board is as follows:

Robert Hellen – Chair, SEND & Safeguarding

Alayna Bates – Staff Governor

Matthew Fox – Premises and IT

Paul Singleton – Achievement and Standards

Nick Speed – Stakeholders

Vacant – Curriculum and Pupil Experience

Belinda Lane – Clerk to the Governors

Keystone Academy Trust Website

Part of the Keystone Academy Trust

© 2024 Surfleet Primary School Privacy Policy Made by CODA Education